Our Board

ACHPER National is governed by an honorary Board whose purpose is to provide ACHPER National with strategic direction. The Board acts proactively to drive the work of the organisation and to meet current and future demands of our members and the broader community. 

 Graeme Quelch (ACHPER WA Patron; Former ACHPER WA President and Life Member)

Manager of Curriculum and Moderation at SCSA

Graeme first joined the ACHPER WA Board in 1991 and, except for a year’s teaching exchange in Canada in 1993, held positions on the state and national boards continuously until August 2016.

Graeme was WA state president of ACHPER from 1998 – 2004. He became national vice president in 2005 and went on to become national president in 2008 until August 2016. 
He was made a fellow of ACHPER in 2000, was awarded Life Membership in 2008 and was awarded a National Honour award in 2016.

Graeme’s commitment and unconditional support for ACHPER and for the world of health and physical education spans 29 years from 1991 to the present. He has been an outstanding role model and excellent advocate to peers and members of various professional associations at both state and national level. His ongoing commitment to the education of young people in the values and attitudes that are essential to the promotion of healthy active lifestyles has been untiring. His efforts, energy and commitment over 29 years has helped to ensure the continued growth of ACHPER at both state and national levels.


Dr Joseph Scott (President)
Lecturer in Health and Physical Education in the School of Education at Edith Cowan University

Dr Joe Scott is a former Health and Physical Education school teacher and has taught across early childhood, primary and secondary disciplines. He completed his PhD within the Priority Research Centre in Physical Activity and Nutrition, University of Newcastle. Dr Scott is currently a Lecturer in Health and Physical Education in the School of Education at Edith Cowan University where he leads the Health and Physical Education programs across the early childhood and primary disciplines. Joe took on the role of President of ACHPER WA in November 2019. You can follow Joe on Twitter @JoeScottHPE.


 Matt Donaldson (Board Member)
HPE Teacher at Presbyterian Ladies' College

Matthew has been teaching PHE at Presbyterian Ladies’ College for the last 13 years. He is an International Baccalaureate (IB) curriculum Workshop Leader for the Asia Pacific region, a PHE Building Quality Curriculum examiner, and a Sessional lecturer at the University of Notre Dame. His passion is to create digital content to facilitate learning and skill development, and is an author of HPE e-books.


Christina Davini (Board Member)
Teacher at Holly Cross College

Christina has worked primarily as a HPE teacher in K-12 for 16 years within a number of WA schools. In teaching the International Baccalaureate curriculum she has developed a diverse range of innovative teaching and learning programs. Christina joined Holy Cross College in 2013 and has since been involved in many key building and design projects along with setting up many policies and procedures of the school. Outside of teaching, Christina’s hobby is Personal Training.

Mitchell Harvie (Board Member)
HPE Coordinator (Primary) at Swan Valley Anglican Community School

 Mitch has a passion for HPE and Leadership, and is actively involved in the HPE community including holding roles as the Ellenbrook Network Coordinator, School Sport WA Cell Leader, and as a Tertiary Tutor. Mitch has also been involved with ACHPER WA as a past conference presenter, and co-created the “Perth HPE teacher” Facebook group.

    Corey May (Board Member)

Teacher at Carey Baptist College


  Regina Cruickshank (Board Member)

Executive Director at Yogazeit Ltd

Regina is an Entrepreneur, Health and Wellbeing Advocate and Yoga Educator/Instructor for the Young and Young at Heart.

Converted by the SCIENCE and evidence-base of Yoga and seeing the benefits of Yoga and Mindfulness in School Communities and Aged Care facilities first hand, sparked a light in her and others leading to the launch of a registered Australian Not for Profit organisation: YOGAZEIT (which translates into Yoga Time). With the support of a dedicated board and highly trained teachers they are empowering School Communities and Aged Care across Australia with Yoga Tools to support Physical Fitness, Social Emotional Learning and Executive Function for overall Wellbeing.

Regina's passion is working with children/teenagers, school teachers, health professionals and seniors reflecting on carefully designed and customised classes and curricula to meet the students/clients needs.

If she is not on the mat or stretching on a chair, you can find her exploring the outdoors and discovering what this beautiful country has to offer. 


  Robyn Blackwell (Board Member)

Primary Physical Education Specialist at Beaumaris Primary School


  Derek Rijnhart (Board Member)

Physical Education Specialist- Applecross Primary School

Derek is an enthusiastic, energetic and dedicated Physical Education teacher who is passionate about student learning and achievement. He gains enormous satisfaction from empowering young people to learn and achieve their best and is committed to helping make a difference in their lives.  Derek sees sport and physical education as an important part of community and personal growth and enjoys sharing this with the students he teaches.